Friday, February 22, 2013

How do limit the visible output types for a particular report



http://www.on-reporting.com/blog/using-reporting-parameter-for-fun-and/


How to create dynamic SQL queries in Pentaho Report Designer


Execute different queries by selecting Parameter

Here is the solution :-


Create database “dynamicquery” and insert table which is in “dynamicQuery.sql” file which is in following link

I also attached PRPT File in following link

http://forums.pentaho.com/showthread.php?137913-how-to-change-query-in-PRD-3-6-by-parameter&p=333566&posted=1#post333566


Reference :- http://www.techievideos.com/videos/1156/How-to-create-dynamic-SQL-queries-in-Pentaho-Report-Designer/

Monday, February 18, 2013

The Pentaho Directory Structure



The Pentaho Directory Structure:

Directory hierarchy

Below is an abridged Pentaho directory structure. The purpose of this diagram is to help you easily find some of Pentaho's important files and locations, which are explained below this diagram.
/pentaho
../server
../../biserver-ee
../../../data
../../../licenses
../../../pentaho-solutions
../../../tomcat
../../data-integration-server
../../../data
../../../licenses
../../../pentaho-solutions
../../../tomcat
../../enterprise-console
../design-tools
../../aggregation-designer
../../data-integration
../../design-studio
../../metadata-editor
../../report-designer
../../schema-workbench
../common
../documentation
../java
../licenses
../postgresql
../scripts

Top-level files

These files are found in the top-level Pentaho directory:
  • ctlscript: (.sh or .bat) Starts, stops, restarts, and shows the status of Pentaho services.
  • installation-summary.txt: Contains the information from the summary screen at the end of the installation process.
  • pentaho.log: The Tomcat log file for the Pentaho Web application.
  • uninstall: A script that removes Pentaho Business Analytics.

Locations of specific programs

  • BA Server: /pentaho/server/biserver-ee/
  • DI Server: /pentaho/server/data-integration-server/
  • Pentaho Enterprise Console: /pentaho/server/enterprise-console/
  • Report Designer: /pentaho/design-tools/report-designer/
  • Schema Workbench: /pentaho/design-tools/schema-workbench/
  • Data Integration (PDI): /pentaho/design-tools/data-integration/
  • Design Studio: /pentaho/design-tools/design-studio/
  • Metadata Editor: /pentaho/design-tools/metadata-editor/
  • Aggregation Designer: /pentaho/design-tools/aggregation-designer/
  • Dashboard Designer: /pentaho/server/biserver-ee/pentaho-solutions/system/dashboards/
  • Analyzer: /pentaho/server/biserver-ee/pentaho-solutions/system/analyzer/
  • Interactive Reporting: /pentaho/server/biserver-ee/pentaho-solutions/system/pentaho-interactive-reporting/
  • License installer: /pentaho/server/enterprise-console/license-installer/
  • Pentaho Mobile: /pentaho/server/biserver-ee/pentaho-solutions/system/pentaho-interactive-reporting/Pentaho-mobile-plugin

Ref : http://infocenter.pentaho.com/help/index.jsp?topic=%2Finstall_manual%2Freference_install_checklist.html

Changing the Location of the pentaho.log File



To change the location of the pentaho.log file, You must edit the log4j.xml available at /pentaho/server/biserver-ee/tomcat/webapps/pentaho/WEB-INF/classes/.

 By default pentaho.log file available at biserver-ce\tomcat\bin folder

 Modify the location as shown in the sample below using the appropriate path 

<param name="File" value="C:\logs\pentaho.log"/> 
<param name="Append" value="true"/>

Removing the Sample Pentaho Analysis Data Source

"Steel Wheels" sample data source pre-configured.
This is useful for some evaluation and test deployments, but since the Steel Wheels database is not included in the manual deployment package, starting the BA Server without removing the sample data source will cause an error.

Follow the directions below.
  1. Edit the /pentaho-solutions/system/olap/datasources.xml file.
  2. Remove the following block of XML: 
     
    <Catalog name="SteelWheels">
        <DataSourceInfo>Provider=mondrian;DataSource=SampleData</DataSourceInfo>
        <Definition>solution:steel-wheels/analysis/steelwheels.mondrian.xml</Definition>
    </Catalog>
    Catalog name="SampleData">
        <DatasourceInfo>Provider=mondrian;DataSource=SampleData</DataSourceInfo>
        <Definition>solution:steel-wheels/analysis/sampledata.mondrian.xml</Definition>
    </Catalog>
     
  3. Save and close the file.
Your Pentaho Analysis data source definition file is cleansed of sample data sources.

Create MongoDB service in Windows OS

1) Open Command Prompt 2) Create directory for Database and Logs                    mkdir c:\data\db                     mkdir c:\...